ZURKAN

 

Boris T. Zurkan of Sylvan Lake, Alberta passed away at the Red Deer Regional Hospital Centre, Red Deer, Alberta on Monday, February 4, 2019 at the age of 94 years. 

 

Boris received his education at the West Curtis School and Portage Collegiate Institute.  He enjoyed a long career as an electrician, retiring from the DEW Line in 1992 from Tuktoyaktuk, NWT, where he had one mile in the Canada Trail.  Throughout his life, Boris worked hard to provide for his family.  In his down time, ‘the farm’ was his pride and joy.  Boris loved music, history, dancing and singing.  He especially enjoyed visits with family, friends, and neighbours; and good discussions, particularly about politics.  Until the end, Boris was calling the shots!  In ‘reality’ (one of his favourite words), Boris often said, “When you wake up in the morning and you are above ground, that’s a good thing!”  So don’t be sad that he’s gone … be glad that he was here.

 

Boris is survived by his loving family:  his children, Sherry (Jim) McCreadie of Rimbey, Alberta; Kal (Val) of McLeese Lake, B.C.; Wendy LaFreniere of Sylvan Lake; Rodney (Diane) of Curtis Ridge, Manitoba; and Tanis Zurkan-Wilson (Mike Hameluck) of Whitemouth, Manitoba; as well as seven grandchildren:  Sonya, Christopher, Leon, Jason, Tiffany, Graham, and Brendan; and seven great grandchildren:  Evan, Erin, Benjamin, Nicholas, Hannah, Brett, and Carter.  He is also survived by his in-laws:  Leslie (Donna) Caister of Edmonton; Marion Caister of Portage la Prairie, Manitoba; and Irene Caister of West Kelowna, B.C.; in addition to numerous nieces and nephews, other relatives, and many friends.  Boris was predeceased by his parents, John and Wassilina; his beloved wife, Audrey; two brothers and three sisters; as well as other additional family members.

 

With respect for Boris’ wishes, no formal funeral service was held.  At a later date, Boris will be taken home to Manitoba where his cremated remains will be laid to rest alongside his wife, Audrey in the Evergreen Memorial Gardens Cemetery, Portage la Prairie, Manitoba.  If friends desire, memorial tributes in Boris’ Memory may be made directly to the charity of one’s choice.  Condolence messages may be forwarded to the family by visiting:  www.ofc-ltd.ca

 

Cremation Arrangements for the Late Boris T. Zurkan entrusted

to the care of

 

 

Please reload

Previous Obituaries
Please reload

Friday, February 14, 2020

Saturday, February 8, 2020

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

Friday, January 31, 2020

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Monday, January 20, 2020

Saturday, January 18, 2020

Thursday, January 9, 2020

Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Friday, December 27, 2019

Tuesday, December 24, 2019

Thursday, December 19, 2019

Wednesday, December 18, 2019

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Saturday, November 9, 2019

Sunday, November 3, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Monday, October 28, 2019

Sunday, October 20, 2019

Saturday, October 12, 2019

Saturday, October 12, 2019

Thursday, September 26, 2019

Thursday, September 26, 2019

Saturday, September 21, 2019

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Saturday, September 7, 2019

Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Saturday, August 24, 2019

Friday, August 23, 2019