HANCHER

 

Laverne R. Hancher of Leedale, Alberta passed away peacefully at the Rimbey Hospital and Care Centre, Area Two on Saturday, February 8, 2020 at the age of 89 years. 

 

Laverne was born on his parent’s farm at Leedale, Alberta, and received his education at the Benjamin School.  He helped his dad farm until he turned 21 years old.  Laverne then enlisted in the Air Force and was stationed in Ottawa, where he met his wife and best friend, Kathleen ‘Kay’.  Upon receiving an honorable discharge, Laverne and Kay moved out west to start farming.  Tragedy struck the family on November 10, 1979 when their second son, Dallas, was killed in a motor vehicle accident.  Their hearts were broken.  In the winter months Laverne put together a curling team, and for several years he enjoyed curling at the Leedale Hall.  When the Benjamin School was closed down, Laverne was asked to drive the school bus and take the children to the Eckville School.  He happily drove the school bus for 10 ½ years.  Laverne and Kay also kept busy farming for many years, until they rented out their land and retired to Rimbey, where they have resided until Laverne’s passing.   

 

Laverne will be forever remembered and greatly missed by his loving family:  his beloved wife of 68 years, Kay; two sons, Kevin Hancher (Anita Scott) of Lacombe; and Leonard Hancher of Armstrong, B.C.; and one daughter, Theresa Hancher of Saskatchewan; as well as six treasured grandchildren, thirteen great grandchildren, and one great, great grandchild.  He will also be lovingly remembered by two sisters, Pat Douglas of Vernon, B.C.; and Phyllis Bjornson of Edmonton; in addition to other family members, and many close friends.  Laverne was predeceased by his parents, Alva and Yola; his son, Dallas; and an infant brother at birth. 

 

With respect for Laverne’s wishes, no formal funeral service will be held.  A Family Interment will take place at a later date in the Bradshaw Cemetery.  If friends desire, memorial tributes in Laverne’s Memory may be made directly to the charity of one’s choice.  Condolence messages may be forwarded to the family by visiting:  www.ofc-ltd.ca.

 

Cremation Arrangements for the Late Laverne R. Hancher entrusted to the care of

 

 

Please reload

Previous Obituaries
Please reload

Wednesday, March 25, 2020

Sunday, March 22, 2020

Tuesday, March 10, 2020

Saturday, February 29, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Saturday, February 8, 2020

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

Friday, January 31, 2020

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Monday, January 20, 2020

Saturday, January 18, 2020

Thursday, January 9, 2020

Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Friday, December 27, 2019

Tuesday, December 24, 2019

Thursday, December 19, 2019

Wednesday, December 18, 2019

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Saturday, November 9, 2019

Sunday, November 3, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Monday, October 28, 2019

Sunday, October 20, 2019

Saturday, October 12, 2019

Saturday, October 12, 2019

Thursday, September 26, 2019

Thursday, September 26, 2019

Saturday, September 21, 2019

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Saturday, September 7, 2019