WILSON

James ‘Jim’ Edwin Wilson of Rimbey, Alberta passed away peacefully, with family by his side, at the Rimbey Hospital and Care Centre on Saturday, August 8, 2020 at the age of 80 years.   

 

Jim was born and raised in Vegreville, Alberta, and was the middle child in a family of nine children.  As a young man, he loved his time spent in the army cadets, becoming a corporal in the Reserve Force.  Jim joined the Alberta Treasury Branch and worked at branches in Vermilion and Olds before moving to Camrose, where he met the love of his life, Vera, who was a daily customer.  Due to his work, they resided in several communities throughout Alberta before settling in Rimbey in 1978, where they raised their family and later retired.  Retirement, however, didn’t sit well with Jim.  It wasn’t long before he re-entered the workforce, working part-time at Rimbey Builders Supply until his health declined.  He absolutely loved this ‘second career’.  Jim was actively involved in his church and the community, and never missed an opportunity to go for coffee with his friends.  He enjoyed a vast number of activities, such as:  curling, bowling, golfing, camping, hiking, hunting, fishing, boating, water skiing, softball, badminton, tennis, woodworking, and tinkering with his model trains.  Jim also appreciated any opportunity to travel near and far – often making adventurous family vacations a priority, and in later years, he loved to embark on many road trip excursions with his wife, Vera.  His most precious moments were those he spent in the company of his family, and he delighted in spending time with his grandchildren and great grandchildren.  He possessed a mischievous side, a gentle humour, and a kind and peaceful spirit.  Jim lived his life in song – turning random phrases into little ditties throughout each day.  His melody will be greatly missed.

 

Jim will be lovingly remembered by his beloved wife of 55 years, Vera; and his three sons:  Darin Wilson of Calgary, Doug Wilson of Truro, Nova Scotia, and Jason (Angie) Wilson of Rimbey; as well as two grandchildren:  Katlyne and Kristina (Eric); and three great grandchildren:  Nevaeh, Karissa, and Geoffrey.  He will also be lovingly remembered by six sisters:  Fran Ewart of Westlock, Gladys Wilson of Edmonton, Hazel (Wayne) Krywalt of Lethbridge, Liz (Cliff) Badger of Calgary, Doris Pierce of Lestock Saskatchewan, and Terry (Don) Bernard of Delta, B.C.; in addition to numerous nieces and nephews, other relatives, and many cherished friends.  Jim was predeceased by his parents, Roy and Mabel; and two brothers, Cliff and Lloyd.

 

By invitation only - due to the current government gathering restrictions - a private Funeral Service in Celebration of Jim’s Life will be held at the Rimbey Church of the Nazarene on Friday, August 14, 2020 at 2:00 p.m. with Pastor Terry Oke officiating.  A Family Interment will precede the service at 11:00 a.m. in the West Haven Cemetery, Rimbey.  If friends desire, memorial tributes in Jim’s Memory may be made directly to the Western Canadian District of the Christian and Missionary Alliance, for the benefit of the Rimbey Alliance Church and Global Missions, 333 – 30 Springborough Boulevard S.W., Calgary, Alberta  T3H 0N9.  Condolence messages may be forwarded to the family by visiting:  www.ofc-ltd.ca

 

Service and Burial Arrangements for the Late James ‘Jim’ Edwin Wilson entrusted to the care of

 

 

Please reload

Previous Obituaries
Please reload

Saturday, September 5, 2020

Monday, August 31, 2020

Wednesday, August 26, 2020

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Friday, August 21, 2020

Thursday, August 20, 2020

Wednesday, August 19, 2020

Saturday, August 8, 2020

Monday, August 3, 2020

Sunday, July 26, 2020

Saturday, July 25, 2020

Monday, June 29, 2020

Thursday, June 25, 2020

Monday, June 8, 2020

Thursday, May 28, 2020

Sunday, May 24, 2020

Thursday, May 21, 2020

Monday, May 11, 2020

Tuesday, April 28, 2020

Thursday, April 23, 2020

Wednesday, March 25, 2020

Sunday, March 22, 2020

Tuesday, March 10, 2020

Saturday, February 29, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Saturday, February 8, 2020

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

Friday, January 31, 2020

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Monday, January 20, 2020

Saturday, January 18, 2020

Thursday, January 9, 2020

Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Friday, December 27, 2019

Tuesday, December 24, 2019

Thursday, December 19, 2019

Wednesday, December 18, 2019

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Saturday, November 9, 2019

Sunday, November 3, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Monday, October 28, 2019

Sunday, October 20, 2019

Saturday, October 12, 2019

Saturday, October 12, 2019

Thursday, September 26, 2019

Thursday, September 26, 2019

Saturday, September 21, 2019

Please reload